Super Roach Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Does Your Small Business Really Need a Server? The Answer Is No.

Go down

Does Your Small Business Really Need a Server? The Answer Is No. Empty Does Your Small Business Really Need a Server? The Answer Is No.

Post  vipluis Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:36 am

As a network computer technician I've come to the choice that I don't think my small business clients that employ between 2-10 people should even bother with installing what we might consider a regular server nowadays. It is overkill, expensive and a major source of problems if something goes wrong. So what do I recommend instead? I would recommend a file server with local and offline backup. What made me come to this decision? A number of real world issues, actually.

Too many computer consultants come from an environment where they were taught and schooled on how to maintain servers. To me this is the old way of doing things. Unless you are hosting your email in-house there isn't the need for the old server.

Think about this...what services do you really want to provide that are mission critical for your clients? For my clients the most important need is a way to create and access files that are backed up on a regular basis. I have seen too many small businesses shut down for days on end because they put all of their trust in a old server and a tape backup system. Why are these servers and tapes such a problem?

Think about this for a second. If a piece of hardware fails in your server, chance are that you won't be able to replace that broken or failing part with something you can buy locally. Often times you have to call the server manufacturer and wait patiently for them to ship you a replacement part, all the while your business is at a stand still.